

News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 23,2023 CONTACT: Suzanna Cisneros, Suzanna.cisneros@ttuhsc.edu (806) 773-4242 Tyler White, tylewhit@ttuhsc.edu (281) 900-2223

TTUHSC Honors Class of 2023 at Commencement Ceremonies

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) hosted commencement ceremonies for its 1,669-member Class of 2023. Graduates from the School of Nursing and Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences were awarded their diplomas May 5. The School of Health Professions and the Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health graduated on May 6. The School of Medicine held their commencement ceremony May 19 and the Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy graduates crossed the stage the following morning on May 20.

"Congratulations to each of our graduates," TTUHSC President Lori Rice-Spearman, Ph.D., said. "I am confident that their time at TTUHSC has prepared them for future challenges and opportunities that will transform health care. I wish our graduates much success and challenge them to make our world kinder and brighter, and I have no doubt they will do so and much, much more."

The School of Nursing graduated 435 members and the first Amarillo traditional BSN cohort in its class of 2023, which includes students who earned their degrees in the school's DNP, MSN and R.N. to BSN programs, and students who earned their traditional BSN degrees. Top award winners included Tania Lopez (Excellence in Nursing Award, DNP Program), Alexandria Key (Excellence in Nursing Award, MSN Program), Gracie Anaya (Excellence in Nursing Award, R.N. to BSN program), Deanna Fleeman (Excellence in Nursing Award, Traditional BSN program) and Alexandra Salazar-Brown (Dean's Leadership Award).

The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Class of 2023 consisted of 31 total graduates, including nine who earned their Ph.D. and 22 who received their master's degree. Valeria Jaramillo-Martinez was named the recipient of the 2023 K. Wyatt McMahon Outstanding Ph.D. student. Other award winners included Megan Ashton and Grayson Braziel (Dean's Recognition Award).

The School of Health Professions honored 826 graduates and its first Doctor of Occupational Therapy cohort. The school's Class of 2023 award honorees included

Katherine Hae-Jin Yu (Undergraduate Dean's Award), Jennie Pearson Deignan (Graduate Dean's Award) and Jeegisha Kapila, Ph.D., (Dean's Award-Research).

The Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health held their first-ever commencement ceremony for its inaugural graduating class. There were 49 graduates in total who received their diplomas. Award winners from the school included Chelsea Gerlicki (United States Public Health Service Excellence in Public Health Award) and Mackenzie Filewicz-Ross (Outstanding Public Health Student of the Year Award).

The School of Medicine honored its 178-member Class of 2023. The Dean's Recognition Award winners included Carly Guerra (Amarillo Campus), Hailey Burden (Covenant Campus) and Asher George (Odessa Campus). The John Aure Buesseler, M.D. Award for student excellence went to Abdurrahman Kharbat. Brianna Marschke earned the Gold Headed Cane Award as the individual selected jointly by faculty and students who best exemplifies those qualities that are most desirable in the competent and caring physician.

The Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy celebrated their 2023 graduating class of 150 students. Kevin Zhang received the Banner Bearer Award for having the highest GPA in the graduating class. Eric Kennison earned the Bowl of Hygieia, an honor that is awarded to the student who best displays the qualities of a fine pharmacist, including high ethics and commitment to the profession.

-30-