

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Senate Resolution 19.15

(Stating the sentiments of the Student Senate congratulating Vardan Karamyan, Ph.D., Thomas Abbruscato Ph.D., Paul Trippier, Ph.D., and Srinidhi Jayaraman on their research endeavors in stroke rehabilitation and Dr. Vardan Karamyan's recently awarded \$2.9 million grant from the NIH for research titled "Development and characterization of peptidomimetic small molecule activators of peptidase neurolysin for stroke therapy")

WHEREAS, Vardan Karamyan, Ph.D. was recently awarded a \$2.9 million grant from the NIH for research in stroke therapy based on a collaborative research proposal from Vardan Karamyan, Ph.D., Thomas Abbruscato Ph.D., Paul Trippier, Ph.D., and Srinidhi Jayaraman, and

WHEREAS, strokes are one of the leading causes of disability in the United States, however there is currently only one drug used for the treatment of ischemic strokes, and

WHEREAS, applications of the findings from the results of studies funded by this grant help provide needed treatment options for one of the leading causes of death,

WHEREAS, this grant allows Texas Tech University Health Science Center to be at the forefront of stroke rehabilitation research on a global level by contributing innovative discoveries and possible treatment options, and

WHEREAS, this furthers Texas Tech University Health Science Center's status as a Level 1 trauma center and center of excellence for stroke treatment,

WHEREAS, Texas Tech University Health Science's values-based culture is evident in this collaborative research proposal, and

WHEREAS, receiving this grant allows further education and involvement of the students of Texas Tech University Health Science Center, and

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Student Senate of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center warmly congratulates Vardan Karamyan, Ph.D., Thomas Abbruscato Ph.D., Paul Trippier, Ph.D., and Srinidhi Jayaraman on their research endeavors and recently awarded \$2.9 million grant.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread upon the Journal and that copies be sent to **Tedd Mitchell, MD,** TTUHSC President and Texas Tech University System Interim Chancellor; **Vardan Karamyan, Ph.D.,** Associate Professor for the TTUHSC School of Pharmaceutical Science in Amarillo; **Thomas Abbruscato Ph.D.,** Chair of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Associate Dean of the TTUHSC School of Pharmacy Amarillo; **Paul Trippier**, **Ph.D.**, Assistant Professor for the TTUHSC School of Pharmaceutical Science in Amarillo; **McKenzie Morris**, Editor of *The Daily Toreador*, and to the students of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.

Authors: BIGGERS, A FLORES, P TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Passed the Senate, 14 NOVEMBER 2018

CC: Journal

Read First Time: 14 NOVEMBER 2018 Reported from Committee: N/A Read Second Time: N/A

Brooke Walterscheid President, Student Government Association