

Student Government Association

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER

Senate Resolution 22.26

(Stating the sentiments of the TTUHSC Student Senate congratulating Jeanie Shawhart, PharmD, MS regarding her work leading the Fall 2022 Medication Cleanout Events on the Lubbock, Abilene, and Amarillo campuses.)

WHEREAS, the Medication Cleanout Events provide a safe and environmentally friendly way for people to dispose of expired, unwanted, and unnecessary medications; and,

WHEREAS, unused and expired medications become hazardous and potential sources of poisoning to different populations of people including young children, teenagers, and the elderly; and.

WHEREAS, in Texas, poisonings are second only to motor vehicle accidents as a cause of death from unintentional injury; and,

WHEREAS, since the first Medication Cleanout event in 2009, there have been 80 Medication Cleanout events with more than 70,000 pounds of unwanted medication and sharps safely disposed; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Shawhart successfully organized the Fall 2022 Medication Cleanout Event on the Amarillo, Lubbock, and Abilene campuses in compliance with the Texas Panhandle Poison Control regulations; and,

WHEREAS, The Fall 2022 Medication Cleanout Event on the Lubbock campus collected 723.5 pounds of non-controlled medications, 32 pounds of controlled substances, and 71 pounds of sharps from 223 cars on October 1, 2022; and,

WHEREAS, The Fall 2022 Medication Cleanout Event on the Abilene campus collected 539.5 pounds of non-controlled medications, 22.5 pounds of controlled substances, and 124 pounds of sharps from 176 cars on October 15, 2022; and,

WHEREAS, The Fall 2022 Medication Cleanout Event on the Amarillo campus collected 1,650.5 pounds of non-controlled medications, 52 pounds of controlled substances, and 265 pounds of sharps from 366 cars on October 29, 2022; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Shawhart is currently planning the Spring 2023 Medication Cleanout Event and striving to incorporate interprofessional involvement from students of other Health Professions outside of the School of Pharmacy; and therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Student Senate of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center congratulates Dr. Shawhart on her dedication and service to the community in West Texas; and therefore,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread upon the Journal and that copies be sent to Lori Rice-Spearman PhD, President, Texas Tech University Health Science Center; Grace M. Kuo PharmD, MPH, PhD, FCCP, FNAP, Dean and Professor, Texas Tech University Health Science Center Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy; Eric J. MacLaughlin, PharmD, Chair and Professor, Texas Tech University Health Science Center Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy Department of Pharmacy Practice; Steven Lee Berk, MD, Executive Vice President for Clinical Affairs and Dean, Texas Tech University Health Science Center School of Medicine; Michael Evans, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FACHE, FAAN, Dean, Texas Tech University Health Science Center School of Nursing; Dawndra Sechrist, OTR, PhD, Dean, Texas Tech University Health Science Center School of Health Professions; Brandt L. Schneider, PhD, Dean, Texas Tech University Health Science Center Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences; Billy U. Philips, Jr, PhD, MPH, Acting Dean and Professor of Texas Tech University Health Science Center Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health; Arianna Flores, Editor-in-Chief of The Daily Toreador; and to the students of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.

Authors:

Brackett, Emma Horne, Sarah Neal Petty, Cheyanna

CC: Journal

Brianna Mendoza

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH

SCIENCES CENTER
Passed the Senate, 15 NOVEMBER 2022

Brianna Mendaza

President, Student Government Association