

Student Government Association

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Senate Resolution 22.25

(Stating the sentiments of the Student Senate congratulating Dr. John Norbury for establishing the new Physical Medicine and Rehabiliation Residency (PM&R) at TTUHSC.)

WHEREAS, the Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Division remains under the Neurology Department at TTUHSC; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Norbury served as an assistant professor at East Carolina University for 10 years prior to joining TTUHSC; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Norbury joined TTUHSC as the Division Chief and Residency Program Director in July 2021; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Norbury serves as a board member of the American Association of Neuromuscular & Electrodiagnostic Medicine (AANEM) and has written over 14 publications and 49 peer reviewed abstracts during his career; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Norbury's goal was to establish a brand new Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation program providing quality healthcare to the rural and underserved population across West Texas; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Norbury played an instrumental role in obtaining funding and recruiting talented faculty and staff to establish the program in its first year; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Norbury partnered with Trustpoint Rehabilitation Hospital of Lubbock and Moody Neurorehabilitation Institute to grow and expand the PM&R Program exposure for students and residents to the field; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Norbury continues to demonstrate a dedication to mentorship, innovation, and excellence which will advance TTUHSC as a leader in providing medical care across West Texas; and therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Student Senate of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center congratulate Dr. Norbury on receiving accreditation for the new Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation program; and therefore,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread upon the Journal and that copies be sent to **John Norbury**, **M.D.**, *Division Chief of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation*; **Steven Berk**, **M.D.**, *School of Medicine Dean*; **Lori Rice-Spearman**, **Ph.D.**, *President of Texas Tech*

University Health Sciences Center; **Darrin D'Agostino**, **D.O.**, **M.P.H.**, Provost and Academic Chief Officer; **Arianna Flores**, Editor-in-Chief of *The Daily Toreador*, and to the students of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.

Author(s): Ray, Sparsh Siddiqui, Khaja

Co-Sponsor(s):
Gonzalez, Bernardo

CC: Journal

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH
SCIENCES CENTER
Passed the Senate, 1 NOVEMBER 2022

Brianna Mendoza

Brianna Mendaza

President, Student Government Association