

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Senate Resolution 22.10

(Stating the sentiments of the Student Senate regarding recent grant funding to the Department of Pharmacology and Neuroscience.)

WHEREAS, all faculty in the department of pharmacology and neuroscience are all funded by extramural funding.

WHEREAS, Dr. Joshua Lawrence received a NIH grant from the National Institute on Aging titled "Transcriptional Dysfunction in Dentate Gyrus Cell Types: Roles of Retinoic Acid Responsive Genes in Protection Against Alzheimer's Disease Pathogenesis".

WHEREAS, the goal of Dr. Joshua Lawrence's study is "combining novel Alzheimer's Disease mouse model crosses, single cell transcriptomics, and electrophysiology, this proposal investigates roles of RA in preserving DG-specific learning, DG circuit function, and transcription of RA-sensitive genes across DG cell types", according to the NIH website.

WHEREAS, Dr. Josh Lawrence has also been granted tenure on 2/24/2022 by the Texas Tech University Board of Regents.

WHEREAS, Dr. Neugebauer and Dr. Ponomarev's study titled "Amygdala Pain Mechanisms" is funded by National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke.

WHEREAS, chronic pain continues to serve as a major health issue and is a critical economic burden to the United States.

WHEREAS, this multidisciplinary research project addresses this important knowledge gap by identifying neuro-immune signaling in the amygdala, a brain center for emotions and pain modulation, as an important pain mechanism.

WHEREAS, the goal of this project aims to identify pain mechanisms in the central amygdala, a key component for pain emotional processing.

WHEREAS, Dr. Guindon has been recently funded by the Mary Kay Research Foundation titled "Aging and Its Effects on Neuropathic Pain".

WHEREAS, this study focuses on the effects of sex and aging on chronic neuropathic pain to understand how chronic pain effects the elderly population.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the senate of TTUHSC congratulate these fellow faculty members in their hard work of continuing our mission of scientific innovation.

THEREFORE BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread to **Dr. Lori Rice-Spearman**, President of TTUHSC, **Dr. Volker Neugebauer**, Chair of the Department of Pharmacology and Neuroscience, **Dr. Brandt Schneider**, Dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, and **Dr. Lance McMahon**, Vice President for Research and Innovation.

Authors: Brent Kisby Melissa Mchann Sparsh Ray Joel Ennin TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH
SCIENCES CENTER
Passed the Senate, 01 March 2022

Bernardo Gonzalez

President, Student Senate