

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Senate Resolution 24.01

(Stating the sentiments of the TTUHSC Student Senate congratulating the Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health on the establishment of their first Student Assembly.)

WHEREAS, The Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health (SPPH) is a program committed to training public health professionals to solve complex issues and improve the health outcomes of individuals and communities using evidence-based methods and a population-based approach; and,

WHEREAS, Student Organizations/Assemblies are established to create positive environments and avenues to enhance students' academic success, engagement, sense of belonging, access to information, and overall well-being; and,

WHEREAS, The Student Assembly (SA) is a self-governing body of the SPPH, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC), comprised of all currently enrolled students of SPPH programs organized to promote and advocate for the interests of SPPH students; and,

WHEREAS, The SA serves a vital role as advisor to the four SPPH standing committees the Learning Outcomes Committee, the Student Experience Committee, the Workforce Readiness Committee, and the Community Advisory Board; and,

WHEREAS, The inaugural SA is led by Jeff Dennis, PhD, *faculty advisor*, Christian Morales, *Chair*, Erum Inamdar, *Vice-Chair*, Alexis Grasso, *Secretary*, and the following appointed student representatives: Amit Thour, *Workforce Readiness Committee*, Quinn Kimery, *Student Experience Committee*, Lamordia Dayamba, *Learning Outcomes Committee*, and Hasan Tinwala, *Community Advisory Board*; and,

WHEREAS, The SA provides a routine medium to address student needs, facilitate student communication and interaction, promote information sharing, and better the overall wellbeing of the SPPH students; and therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, that the TTUHSC Student Senate congratulates the TTUHSC Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health on their vision and foresight in establishing the Student Assembly to promote student engagement, welfare, and information dissemination; and therefore, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread upon the Journal and that copies be sent to Lori Rice-Spearman, Ph.D., *President of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center*, Darrin D'Agostino, D.O., MPH, MBA., *Provost and Chief Academic Officer*, Gerard E. Carrino, Ph.D., MPH, *Dean of TTUHSC Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health*, Jeff Dennis, PhD, *Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health*, Jeff Dennis, PhD, *Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health Associate Professor and Student Assembly Faculty Advisor*, Arianna Flores, Editor-in-Chief of *The Daily Toreador*, and the faculty, staff, and students of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.

Author(s): Grasso, Alexis Osaji, Joy Cramer, Jenna Nemariam, Amanda

CC: Journal

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Passed the Senate, 23 January 2024

Cheyanna Petti

Cheyanna Petty President, Student Government Association