

## TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Senate Resolution 23.25

[Stating the sentiments of the TTUHSC Student Senate congratulating faculties on their promotions and appointments within the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (GSBS)]

WHEREAS, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) upholds a tradition of excellence in education, healthcare, and research; and,

WHEREAS, the esteemed faculty members play an indispensable role in fostering an enriching academic environment, thereby contributing to the substantial advancement of TTUHSC; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Thomas Abbruscato, Amarillo Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences Professor Chair who received the 2020 Texas Tech University System Chancellor's Council Distinguished Research Award, has been appointed as a Grover E. Murray Professor due to his extensive research through his National Institute of Health (NIH) funded research project grants, demonstration of unwavering devotion and commitment to strengthening in his field; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Billy U. Philips Jr., Executive Vice President and Director of the F. Marie Hall Institute for Rural and Community Health at the TTUHSC, has been appointed as a Grover E. Murray Professor at TTUHSC due to his exceptional leadership and dedication throughout his career, spanning over five decades, in eliminating health disparities, pioneering telehealth solutions, and advancing community-based health programs; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Dan Hardy, an Associate Professor in Biomedical Sciences at TTUHSC since 2002 specializing in biochemistry and molecular biology, has been promoted to Professor due to his significant research contributions in the fields of sperm-egg interactions and connective tissue repair, and his teaching and mentoring all of students; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Hongjun Liang, an Associate Professor of Cell Physiology & Molecular Biophysics who has dedicated numerous years of exemplary service, has been promoted to Professor due to his publications in <u>journals</u> such as Nature Communications and his dedication to advancing knowledge and expertise to the next generation of scientists at GSBS; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Komaraiah Palle, an Associate Professor of Cell Biology and Biochemistry, has been promoted to Professor due to his deciphering of molecular mechanisms of carcinogenesis and development of targeted preventive and therapeutic strategies for malignancies such as ovarian, breast, kidney, and colorectal cancer, along with his administrative contributions to GSBS embodying a commitment to scientific innovation and educational excellence; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Dan Webster, an Associate Professor of Medical Education and Cell Biology & Biochemistry, has been promoted to Professor following his decade-long tenure at TTUHSC where he has made significant contributions to the field of biomedical sciences and medical education and played a pivotal role in shaping the program's structure and curriculum; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Yangzom Bhutia, an Associate Professor in the Department of Cell Biology and Biochemistry, has been granted Tenured due to her exceptional research in the field of Biomedical Sciences resulting in an NIH RO1 grant for pancreatic cancer research and the study of amino acid and peptide transporters, and significant educational contributions through her teaching and mentorship; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Gurvinder Kaur, an Family Medicine Accelerated Track 1 (FMAT) co-facilitator, Block Director for Embryology and for Organ Systems/General Principles of Biochemistry, has been promoted to Associate Professor due her unwavering support for the development of curriculum and advancement of education at TTUHSC; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Cassandra Kruczek, an FMAT physician mentor and Department of Medical Education (DOME) appointed faculty member, has been promoted to Associate Professor due to her commitment to the development of generations of future medical students by being a kind and caring professor who is always delivers concise and effective teaching; and,

BE IT RESOLVED that the Student Senate of TTUHSC extends their heartfelt congratulations to Dr. Thomas Abbruscato, Dr. Billy Phillip, Dr. Dan Hardy, Dr. Hongjun Liang, Dr. Komaraiah Palle, Dr. Dan Webster, Dr. Yangzom Bhutia, Dr. Gurvinder Kaur, and Dr. Cassandra Kruczek, on their well-deserved promotions and appointments, honoring their steadfast commitment and contributions to the TTUHSC and the larger scientific community; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be recorded in the Journal and that copies be sent to Lori Rice-Spearman, Ph.D., President of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; Darrin D'Agostino, D.O., MPH, MBA, Provost and Chief Academic Officer; Brandt Schneider, Ph.D., Dean of Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences; John C. DeToledo, M.D., Interim Dean of School of Medicine; Thomas Abbruscato, Ph.D, Billy Phillips, Ph.D, Dan Hardy, Ph.D, Hongjun Liang, Ph.D, Komaraiah Palle, Ph.D, Dan Webster, Ph.D, Gurvinder Kaur, Ph.D, MS, Cassandra Kruczek, Ph.D, MS, Yangzom Bhutia, Ph.D, and to all students, faculty, and staff of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, as a testimony of our utmost respect and admiration for their commendable achievements and contributions.

Author(s):
Sah, Naresh
Liu, Xiaobo
Khaja, Sidddiqui
Lie, Paul
Mitchel, Kaylan
McQuade, Jacob
Biniam, Elbe
Windham, Faith
Petty, Cheyanna

Cheyanna Petty
President, Student Government Association

Cheyanna Petty

CC: Journal

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY
HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER
Passed the Senate, 28 November 2023