

Student Government Association

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER

Senate Resolution 23.08

(Stating the sentiments of the TTUHSC Student Senate congratulating Sharmila Dissanaike, M.D., FACS, FCCM for her clinical and leadership accomplishments and her recent election as the President of American Burn Association.)

WHEREAS, Dr. Dissanaike is one of only twenty-four females who hold the position as a Department Chair of Surgery within the medical school community of North America; and,

WHEREAS, based on her credentials and clinical experience, Dr. Dissanaike has recently been elected to serve as president of the American Burn Association beginning in 2025; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Dissanaike has repeatedly demonstrated that her medical research, clinical practice, and academic results are the definition of excellence with more than fifty awards during the span of her career; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Dissanaike serves as a member on the American Colleges of Surgeons Trauma Verification Committee and the Committee of Trauma, demonstrating her dedication to leadership and importance of her role in medical quality assurance; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Dissanaike is Co-Director alongside Kendra Rumbaugh, PhD of the TTUHSC School of Medicine Surgery Burn Center of Research Excellence (BCoRE); and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Dissanaike has contributed to over one hundred peer-reviewed scientific articles, specifically relating to research in various forms of surgical interventions for trauma related to burns, management and care of critically ill patients, reconstructive surgery, and pharmacological treatment of surgical patients within the acute care setting; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Dissanaike was one of seven physicians appointed by Governor Greg Abbott to the Texas Medical Board District Three Review Committee in 2021 to assist in evaluating medical practice and professional competency; and therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Student Senate of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center congratulates Sharmila Dissanaike, M.D., FACS, FCCM on her election as President of the American Burn Association, her invaluable contribution to current medical research, her commitment to the General Surgery Residents at TTUHSC, as well as her overall service to the Department of Surgery at TTUHSC; and therefore,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread upon to Lori-Rice Spearman **Ph.D.**, President of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; **Darrin D'Agostino, D.O.**,

MPH, MBA, Provost and Chief Academic Officer; Sharmila Dissanaike, M.D., FACS, FCCM, Professor and Chair of TTUHSC Department of Surgery; Steven Berk, M.D., School of Medicine Dean; and Arianna Flores, Editor-in-Chief of The Daily Toreador; and to the students of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.

Authors: Pittillo, Laurel Nevarez, Alma King, Jada Tindall, Ashlyn TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Passed the Senate, 7 MARCH 2023

Brianna Mendoza

Brianna Mendoza President, Student Government Association

CC: Journal