

Student Government Association

## TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Senate Resolution 23.03

(Stating the sentiments of the TTUHSC Student Senate to congratulate Dr. Vadivel Ganapathy on a wonderful and illustrious career before retirement from TTUHSC.)

WHEREAS, Dr. Ganapathy served as professor and chair for the TTUHSC Department of Cell Biology and Biochemistry since 2014; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Ganapathy was appointed a Grover Murray professor in 2017, which is awarded to faculty members who have attained national or international distinction in their fields for outstanding research, excellence in scholarship, and creative achievement; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Ganapathy served as a renowned researcher in the field of cancer biology and the development of novel anticancer drugs, publishing over 485 research publications, and 30 book chapters; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Ganapathy has contributed over 40 years to the field of academic medicine serving as a researcher, educator and administrator and receiving over \$19.5 million in grant funding from the National Institute of Health, Scientist Training Program from Medical College of Georgia Research Institute, the Department of Defense and the Health Resources and Services Administration, and many others; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Ganapathy served as a valued educator and taught many pre-clinical courses including lectures within biochemistry, pathology, and metabolism to first and second year medical students; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Ganapathy has been repeatedly recognized as an outstanding faculty educator and mentor receiving multiple teaching awards including the Dean's Basic Science Teaching Award, the Student Government Association Outstanding Faculty Award, the Block Teaching Award for Biology of Cells and Tissues, the John Buesseler Award for Basic Sciences and the TTUHSC University Distinguished Faculty award and 2020 Distinguished Teaching Award; and therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Student Senate of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center congratulate Dr. Ganapathy, a distinguished faculty member, for all his accomplishments throughout his career and wish him a happy retirement; and therefore,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread upon the Journal and that copies be sent to Lori Rice-Spearman, Ph.D., President of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; Dr. D'Agostino, D.O., M.P.H, Provost and Chief Academic Officer; Vadivel Ganapathy, Ph.D., Professor and Chair of the Department of Cell Biology and Biochemistry; Steven Berk, M.D., Dean, School of Medicine; Brandt Schneider, Ph.D., Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences; Arianna Flores, Editor-in-Chief of The Daily Toreador, and to the students of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.

Authors: Ray, Sparsh Jones, Hannah Kurian, Jithin

CC: Journal

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH
SCIENCES CENTER
Passed the Senate, 21 FEBRUARY 2023

Brianna Mendoza

President, Student Government Association

Brianna Mendaza