

Student Government Association

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER

Senate Resolution 23.01

(Stating the sentiments of the TTUHSC Student Senate congratulating Michael Evans, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, Dean of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Nursing, for receiving the Legacy Award from the Panhandle Great 25 Nurses.)

WHEREAS, the Legacy Award is given to "extraordinary registered nurses who have made enduring and substantial contributions to the nursing profession in the Texas Panhandle for at least 25 years;" and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Evans implemented the Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners (SANE) program at Amarillo's Northwest Texas Hospital, which was one of the nation's first programs of its kind; and,

WHEREAS, over the course of Dr. Evans' career, he has contributed to the advancement of the discipline of nursing through his work at the American Nurses Credentialing Center, including his facilitation of the development of the Magnet Hospital Recognition Program; and,

WHEREAS, under Dr. Evans' leadership, the School of Nursing has become one of the largest schools at TTUHSC and was recently named the Best Nursing School in Texas and the Southwest region for 2022 by Nursing Schools Almanac; and therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Student Senate of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center congratulates Dr. Evans on being the 2022 Legacy Award recipient and on his substantial contributions to the field of nursing; and therefore,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread upon the Journal and that copies be sent to Lori Rice-Spearman, PhD, President, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; Darrin D'Agostino, DO, MPH, MBA, Provost and Chief Academic Officer; Michael Evans, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, Dean, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Nursing, Grace M. Kuo, PharmD, MPH, PhD, FCCP, FNAP, Dean and Professor, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy; Steven Lee Berk, MD, Executive Vice President for Clinical Affairs and Dean, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Health Professions; Brandt Schneider, PhD, Dean, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences; Billy U. Philips, Jr., PhD, MPH, Acting Dean and Professor of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health; Gerard E.

Carrino, PhD, MPH, Incoming Dean of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health; Arianna Flores, Editor-in-Chief of The Daily Toreador; and to the students of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.

Author: Katie King

CC: Journal

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER

Passed the Senate, 24 JANUARY 2023

Brianna Mendaza

Brianna Mendoza

President, Student Government Association