

## TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER

Senate Resolution 22.05

(Stating the sentiments of the Student Senate congratulating Dr. Adrian Billings, Dr. Jay Frankfather, Dr. Betsy Jones, Dr. Kim Peck, Dr. Felix Morales, Erin Mustian, Lauren Baker on their work in furthering rural healthcare experiences)

WHEREAS, TTUHSC has established itself as a healthcare leader caring for patients throughout eastern New Mexico and West Texas, and

WHEREAS, TTUHSC SOM was the 1st program in the nation to offer a threeyear Family Medicine Accelerated Track, which has been very effective at providing high-quality physicians who go on to work in rural settings throughout West Texas, and

WHEREAS, Students have the ability to go on rural health electives during 3rd year family medicine and OB/GYN rotations, including West Texas ER in Denver City, OB/GYN practice with Dr. Jay Frankfather, and Big Bend Regional Hospital with Dr. Adrian Billings serving Alpine, Marfa, and Presidio, and

WHEREAS, Students have chances to expand their rural health experiences by participating in the Rural Health elective, which helps to form a better understanding of the unique and challenging aspects faced when practicing in a rural setting, led by Dr. Betsy Jones, Dr. Kim Peck, Dr. Felix Morales and coordinated previously by Erin Mustian and now Lauren Baker, and

WHEREAS, Physical Therapy students have the opportunity to go on rural health clinical rotations, including Eastland Memorial Hospital, Golden Plains Community Hospital, and Lynn County Hospital, and

WHEREAS, Pharmacy students have had the opportunity to partner with nonprofit clinics to draft formularies for approval and set up clinic pharmacies to help provide prescriptions for low-income patients, and

WHEREAS, the TTUHSC Permian Basin Campus has expanded its Rural Family Medicine program to be the largest "1-2" rural residency program in the State of Texas,

WHEREAS, TTUHSC has implemented the start of the Next Generation 911 Telemedicine Medical Services Pilot Project which works with rural counties in West Texas to demonstrate whether telemedicine technology will function properly in the EMS environments and maintain connectivity with area Trauma Centers, and

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Student Senate of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center recognize the effort of Dr. Adrian Billings, Dr. Jay Frankfather, Dr. Betsy Jones, Dr. Kim Peck, Dr. Felix Morales, Erin Mustian, Lauren Baker, the Next Generation 911 Telemedicine Medical Services Administration, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread upon the Journal and that copies be sent to Lori Rice-Spearman Ph.D., President of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; Steven Berk MD, Dean of the School of Medicine; Timothy Benton, MD, Dean of the School of Medicine Permian Basin Campus; Mateo Rosiles, Editor of The Daily Toreador; and to the students of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; Dean Quentin Smith, Dean of the School of Pharmacy; Dawndra Sechrist, OTR, Ph.D, Dean of the School of Health Professions; Dr. Adrian Billings, Dr. Jay Frankfather, Dr. Betsy Jones, Dr. Kim Peck, Dr. Felix Morales, Erin Mustian, and Lauren Baker

Authors:

Raicevic, S.

Jurecky, J.

Rossettie, S.

Mammen, J.

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Passed the Senate, 15 February 2022

Bernardo Gonzalez President, Student Senate

Schaeffer, K. Nguyen, A. Okwunwanne, Z. Kurian, J. Croff, R.