

## TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Senate Resolution 20.26

(Stating the sentiments of the Student Senate congratulating Dr. Samuel Prien, Ph.D., and Dr. Lindsay Penrose, Ph.D. for receiving the American Society of Reproductive Medicine (ASRM) Star Award)

WHEREAS, the ASRM Star Awards are presented annually to recognize members who have shaped reproductive medicine by presenting their work in at least nine of the ten past ASRM Scientific Congresses.

WHEREAS, Dr. Samuel Prien currently serves as the Director of Clinical Laboratories for TTUHSC's Obstetrics and Gynecology Department and has authored over 110 peer reviewed articles.

WHEREAS, Dr. Samuel Prien has presented at 27 of the past 30 ASRM Congresses and is a 9-time recipient of the ASRM Star Award.

WHEREAS, Dr. Lindsay Penrose is an associate professor for TTUHSC's Obstetrics and Gynecology Department and has authored over 40 publications.

WHEREAS, Dr. Lindsay Penrose is a previous recipient of the 2018 Women in Excellence Award, having served on the boards of the Lubbock Area Teen Pregnancy Prevention Coalition and director for the school's Assisted Reproductive Technology Program.

WHEREAS, the works of Dr. Samuel Prien and Dr. Lindsay Penrose have led the fields of reproductive medicine and their achievements exemplify the qualities of the ASRM Star Award.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Student Senate of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center congratulate Dr. Samuel Prien and Dr. Lindsay Penrose for their continued efforts and excellence at the highest level of academia.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread upon the Journal and that copies be sent to **Lori Rice-Spearman**, Ph.D., President of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; **Steven Berk**, M.D., Dean of the School of Medicine at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; **Edward Yeomans**, M.D., Director of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; **Chase Seabolt**, Editor-in-chief of The Daily Toreador; and to the students of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.

Authors: Jain, N.

CC: Journal

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Passed the Senate, 17 November 2020

homaling

Marcus Gonzalez President, Student Senate

Read First Time: 17 November 2020 Reported from Committee:17 November 2020 Read Second Time: 17 November 2020