

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Senate Resolution 23.12

(Stating the sentiments of the TTUHSC Student Senate congratulating Sanjay Srivastava, Ph.D., and Gail Cornwall, Ph.D., on being named Fellows of the American Association of the Advancement of Science)

WHEREAS, the American Association of the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world's largest multidisciplinary scientific society, which seeks to advance science, engineering, and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all; and,

WHEREAS, eligible AAAS Fellow nominees are members whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished and who have been a continuous AAAS member for at least four years leading up to the year of nomination; and,

WHEREAS, AAAS Fellowship is a lifetime honor and some notable AAAS Fellows include distinguished individuals such as W.E.B. DuBois, Ellen Ochoa, and Thomas Edison; and,

WHEREAS, AAAS Fellows are nominated by their peers, and nominees deemed by the AAAS council to be scientifically distinguished are then elected to receive the grade of Fellow; and,

WHEREAS, Sanjay Srivastava, Ph.D., Associate Dean of the TTUHSC Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, Chair of the Department of Immunotherapeutics and Biotechnology, and Director of the Graduate Biotechnology Program, has been named to Stanford University's list of top 2% of the world's most cited researchers in the years 2019 and 2020, having authored more than 160 research articles with over ten thousand citations giving him an H-index of 57; and is a serial innovator with 18 disclosures and 8 patent filings, having earned one US patent for repurposing an antipsychotic drug to treat brain cancer; and,

WHEREAS, Gail Cornwall, Ph.D., Professor of the TTUHSC Department of Cell Biology and Biochemistry, has an excess of 50 peer-reviewed publications to her name, and has received numerous grants and contracts for research ranging from Alzheimer's disease, breast and prostate cancer, various aspects of human reproduction, and has mentored over 60 Fellows, Residents, and students; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Srivastava and Dr. Cornwall have been integral to the high-quality education of TTUHSC students across multiple schools for over 16 years and over 28 years, respectively; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Srivastava and Dr. Cornwall have been elected to the 2022 class of AAAS fellows; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Srivastava and Dr. Cornwall along with more than 500-member Fellowship Class of 2022 will be celebrated at the AAAS annual Fellows Forum that will be held on a summer date yet to be determined in Washington, DC; and therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Student Senate of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center congratulate Dr. Sanjay Srivastava on his election as an AAAS Fellow in the section of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Dr. Gail Cornwall on her election as an AAAS Fellow in the section of Biological Sciences; and therefore,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread upon the Journal and that copies be sent to Lori Rice-Spearman, Ph.D., President of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; Darrin D'Agostino, D.O., MPH, MBA, Provost and Chief Academic Officer; Sanjay Srivastava, Ph.D., Associate Dean of Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, Chair of the Immunotherapeutics & Biotechnology Department; Gail Cornwall, Ph.D., Professor of the Department of Cell Biology & Biochemistry; Grace Kuo, PharmD, Ph.D., MPH, FCCP, FNAP, Dean of Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy; Brandt Schneider, Ph.D., Dean of Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences; Steven L. Berk, M.D., Dean of School of Medicine; Sara Brouse, PharmD, FCCP, BCPS, AQ Cardiology, Regional Dean of Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy Abilene Campus; Arianna Flores, Editor-in-Chief of The Daily Toreador, and to the students of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.

Authors:

Davies, Stephen

Sah, Naresh

Stinson, Jasmine

Windham, Faith

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Passed the Senate, 4 APRIL 2023

Brianna Mendoza

Brianna Mendoza President, Student Government Association

CC: Journal