

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Senate Resolution 23.10

(Stating the sentiments of the TTUHSC Student Senate congratulating Jannette M. Dufour, Ph.D. on her appointment to Department Chair of Cell Biology and Biochemistry and her continued service to TTUHSC School of Medicine and Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences)

WHEREAS, Dr. Dufour joined TTUHSC faculty in the Department of Cell Biology and Biochemistry, School of Medicine, and Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences in 2005; and,

WHEREAS, since 2005, in addition to her teaching position, Dr. Dufour has served the Department of Cell Biology and Biochemistry and the School of Medicine as a coordinator for several seminar series, as a member and chair of a plethora of committees, and in numerous other leadership roles; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Dufour has been invited to five seminars at several universities as well as at national and international meetings, including American Society of Andrology in 2007 and 2016, the Society for the Study of Reproduction in 2012 and 2016, NIAID (National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases) in 2017, and NIEHS (National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences) in 2017; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Dufour has been a professor with tenure in the Department of Cell Biology and Biochemistry, School of Medicine, and Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences since 2018; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Dufour served as the Associate Dean for Research in the TTUHSC School of Medicine from 2012-2018; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Dufour has been awarded with more than 25 research grants from several prestigious national and local agencies including the National Institute of Health, the American Heart Association, the American Diabetes Association, Johnson & Johnson, and the Wilson Foundation; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Dufour has received various awards including the TTUHSC President's Young Investigator Award in 2011, the Outstanding Women Leader Award from the West Texas Association for Women in Science in 2013, the Harry M. Weitlauf Anatomy Teaching Award in 2013, the Dean's Basic Science Teaching Award in 2017, and the President's Team-Teaching Award in 2019; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Dufour was celebrated in the Laura W. Bush Institute for Women's Health Annual Impact Report in 2017 for her groundbreaking work on Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes treatments for over 20 years; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Dufour has repeatedly demonstrated her passion for teaching and research through receiving greater than forty awards and over fifty peer-reviewed publications she has received thus far in her career; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Dufour embodies the TTUHSC value of visionary by demonstrating and inspiring commitment to lifelong learning and personal development; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Dufour embodies the TTUHSC value of kindhearted by treating all of her students with compassion, respect, and an open mind; and therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Student Senate of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center congratulates Dr. Dufour on her outstanding leadership, continued service to this institute, and recent appointment to Department Chair of Cell Biology and Biochemistry in the TTUHSC Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences; and therefore,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread upon the Journal and that copies be sent to Lori Rice-Spearman Ph.D., President of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; Darrin D'Agostino, D.O., MPH, MBA., Provost and Chief Academic Officer; Jannette M. Dufour, Ph.D, Chair of Cell Biology and Biochemistry; Brandt L. Schneider Ph.D., Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Dean; Steven Berk, M.D., School of Medicine Dean; Ashlee Rigsby, Associate Director of Outreach and Engagement of GSBS; Arianna Flores, Editor-in-Chief of The Daily Toreador, and to the students of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.

Authors: Birmingham, Joshua Cole Dongarkar, Mitej Horne, Sarah Neal Jameson, Natalie Lie, Paul Mallik, Avantika Sah, Naresh

CC: Journal

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Passed the Senate, 21 MARCH 2023

Brianna Mendaza

Brianna Mendoza President, Student Government Association