TTUHSC Research

Recent Funding Awards

Recent Grants Awarded to Faculty in the
Department of Pharmacology and Neuroscience

George Henderson, NIAAA R01, $1,721,250 for 5 yrs, starting 05/2016 (Neuroprotection from ETOH-mediated apoptosis: Nrf2/ARE control of GSH homeostasis)

J. Joshua Lawrence, South Plains Foundation, $15,000, starting 9/2016 (Loss of Inhibitory Control in Alzheimer’s Disease)

Volker Neugebauer, NINDS, R01, $1,673,440 for 5 yrs, starting 12/2016 (Amygdala pain mechanisms: role of SK channels in neuroplasticity) 


Congratulations to Alok Ranjan!  Mr. Ranjan, a Research Assistant in the lab of Dr. Sanjay Srivastava and a Ph.D. Candidate in the Graduate Program in Pharmaceutical Sciences, TTUHSC-SOP, Amarillo, was selected through the Society of Toxicology (SOT) Awards Committee to receive the 2015 Syngenta Fellowship Award in Human Health Applications of New Technologies.  Per SOT, the purpose of this award is “to support mode-of-action research aimed at characterizing dose-dependent effects of xenobiotics on mammalian systems in such a way that the causal sequence of key events underlying toxicity is elucidated”.  The award consists of an award plaque, $15,000.00 in fellowship funds, travel to the 2015 SOT Annual Meeting in San Diego, California, to accept the award, and travel to a Syngenta site to present his results.

Two TTUHSC Graduate Students Receive American Heart Association Awards

Lea Ann Thompson in Dr. Jannette Dufour's lab (SOM) and  Pooja Naik in  Dr. Luca Cucullo’s Lab (SOP) received awards from the American Heart Association as part of the AHA program to help students initiate careers in cardiovascular and stroke research by providing research assistance and training.  Only 13% of the project submissions were funded this year.  The projects are titled, "Sertoli cells secreting processed proinsulin: A unique therapy for reducing cardiovascular risks in diabetes (Thompson)" and "Role of Nrf2 in Pathophysiology of Cerebral Stroke Following Tobacco Smoke Exposure."  These students become eligible for the Graduate Student Bonus Program sponsored by the Research Office,

Dr. Subhasis Misra Receives CPRIT FUNDING for ~1.4 Million for "Get FIT to Stay Fit. Stepping Up to Fight Colorectal Cancer in the Panhandle” 

This project is geared towards improving the screening rates for colon cancer in the Texas panhandle. It is a multi-component evidence-based program that will target low income, undereducated, and minorities including refugees. This work addresses two critical barriers to screening; 1) lack of knowledge and awareness of Colorectal Cancer and screening and 2) lack of access to screening and diagnostic services. This is a public and private partnership with multiple collaborators including the American Cancer Society, the Amarillo Department of Public Health and the major hospital and healthcare providers in Amarillo. Among the collaborators are Dr. Aparajita Mishra, Dr Navkiran Shokar and Dr. Theresa Byrd. This work is performed in association with Harrington Cancer Center, Texas Oncology Physician Associates, Accolade Home Care, JO Wyatt Clinic and Regence Health Network.

 Dr. Theresa Byrd Receives CPRIT FUNDING for ~$1.4 Million for "ACCION for Rural West Texas" 

This prevention program, called ACCION for Rural West Texas will include outreach through community organizations and Federally Qualified Health Centers, education about CRC delivered by community health workers using a video and flipchart, provision of testing including free FIT testing and colonoscopy as needed, and navigation to assist our participants in completing their testing and in finding health care coverage and treatment for cancer as needed.  The education will be delivered to anyone in the area, while the free testing will be available only to those who are uninsured, or underinsured in that their plan will not cover screening.   Insured people will receive education and a letter that they can take to their doctor encouraging the physician to order CRC screening.  Dr. Kiran Shokar (family Medicine, El Paso) will serve as co-director of the project.  Dr. Huaxin Song (Lubbock SON), Dr. Ariwan Rakvit (Lubbock Internal Medicine), Dr. Ron Cook (Lubbock Family Medicine), and Dr. Linda McMurry (Lubbock Nursing, Combest Center) will serve as co-investigators.  Many community partners will also be working with the team.  

Dr. Roger Bryan Sutton receives 5 year funding award from the NIH for study titled "Human dysferlin and its implications in Limb-Girdle Muscular Dystrophy"

Dr. Vardan T. Karamyan
 Receives Two Years Funding from the
American Heart Association to Investigate the Hypothesized Role of
Peptidase Neurolysin in Pathogenesis of Stroke

Dr. Luis G. Cuello Receives Three Years Additional Funding for Research Grant from the Welch Foundation (click here for more info)


TTUHSC Receives National Grant
Professor Afzal A. Siddiqui Receives Grant from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation (click here for more info)

 New NIH Award to Dr. Michaela Jansen

Dr. Jansen's laboratory has a long-standing interest in studying pentameric ligand-gated ion channels. These receptors are targeted by a multitude of clinically used drugs that include antidepressants, antiepileptics, antiemetics, antipsychotics, anesthetics, muscle relaxants, spasmolytics, tranquillizers, and drugs for the treatment of substance abuse. They also represent novel therapeutic targets to treat inflammatory diseases like atherosclerosis, Alzheimer's, diabetes, inflammatory bowel disease, and sepsis.  She recently received an R01 award from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke to investigate the structure and function of the so-far neglected intracellular domain with the goal to evaluate this domain as a new drug target that can then be utilized to design innovative therapeutic drugs with improved selectivity.